Welcome Guest
HeliTorque
  
User Control Panel

Security Code: : Security Code
Type Security Code Here: :
 
Register Here
Lost Password?

Online Stats:
Visitors: 31
Members: 0
Total: 31

Membership:
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Registering: 0
Members: 6662
Latest: chrisw

Most Ever Online
Visitors: 447
Members: 10
Total: 457


HeliTorque :: View topic - Do You Have Microsoft Flight Simulator
Forum FAQ
Forum FAQ
Search
Search
Memberlist
Memberlist
Usergroups
Usergroups
Profile
Profile
Contact Manager
Contact Manager
Log in
Log in
Log in to check your private messages
Log in to check your private messages
HeliTorque Forum Index » Simulation

Post new topic   Reply to topic All times are GMT
Do You Have Microsoft Flight Simulator Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  

Do You Have Microsoft Flight Sim on your Computer
Yes
81%
 81%  [ 30 ]
No
18%
 18%  [ 7 ]
Going to Get It
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Voted : 21
Total Votes : 37
This poll does not expire

Author Message
Heli-Ops
H Addict
H Addict


Offline
Joined: May 08, 2005
Posts: 1078
Location: Auckland, New Zealand


newzealand.gif

PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2006 8:37 pm    Post subject: Do You Have Microsoft Flight Simulator Reply with quote

Thought it would be interesting to see how many members here have Flight Sim on their computer at home and if so some feedback on how you find it.

Cheers

Ned
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Skype Name
WhirlyGirl
Administrator
Administrator


Offline
Joined: Jul 20, 2004
Posts: 3702
Location: Birmingham, UK


uk.gif

PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2006 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, I have X-Plane. I find the realism far better on X-plane, even though the graphical side may not be as good.

WhirlyGirl Cool
_________________
CPL(H) / FI(H) - Cabri G2, R22, S300, R44, B206
Flight Examiner (H), Ground Examiner (H)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Name
blme
H Addict
H Addict


Offline
Joined: Jul 22, 2004
Posts: 262
Location: Radway, Warwickshire


uk.gif

PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2006 9:07 pm    Post subject: Flight Simulator Reply with quote

Hi Ned,

Not had FS since converting to MAC 5 years ago.
Am I missing out?

blme.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Name
WhirlyGirl
Administrator
Administrator


Offline
Joined: Jul 20, 2004
Posts: 3702
Location: Birmingham, UK


uk.gif

PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2006 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

At Heli Expo I sampled Flight Sim using a set of virtual helicopter controls.

At home we have the following set up:

Power Mac G4 Dual Processor
X-Plane
Copycat Virtual Multi Role Helicopter controls (see pic)



I find this very reallistic (besides the lack of anticpation of movement), and I think it helped keep the techniques going between lessons when WhirlyGuy and myself were learning to fly. The controls make it feel like flying a real helicopter, and you can set the realism level.

Don't know if flight sim is available for mac, but I am happy with X-Plane.

WhirlyGirl Cool

P.S. Anybody else use home simulator software with helicopter controls? What do you think of them?
_________________
CPL(H) / FI(H) - Cabri G2, R22, S300, R44, B206
Flight Examiner (H), Ground Examiner (H)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Name
heliaviator
H Addict
H Addict


Offline
Joined: Jan 28, 2005
Posts: 388
Location: ESSEX 51deg 47,04N 0deg 9,47E


uk.gif

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My daughter has Microsoft Flight Simulator but only ever flies the planks (she wants to become a plank commercial pilotand fly A320's etc)
_________________
heliaviator(Ian) PPL(H) R44
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
James T Lowe
Moderator
Moderator


Offline
Joined: Jul 27, 2004
Posts: 2575
Location: Leicester


uk.gif

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 9:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Had MS Flight Simulator 2000, haven't really bothered since gaining PPL(H) though!

Have to say that I was next to useless on the simulator - I managed to once land the 109 by rolling down a runway at EGLL; never could get the hang of any other helicopter...

Good job we don't fly the real machines by keyboard alone... ! Wink
_________________
J.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
WhirlyGirl
Administrator
Administrator


Offline
Joined: Jul 20, 2004
Posts: 3702
Location: Birmingham, UK


uk.gif

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

James,

Using the keyboard is just about as easy as being PIC whilst hanging off the left skid (not that I have tried that). If you use a control set like the one above it would make it a hundred times more realistic. When you're over Birmingham way come and try ours out - it's pretty addictive! Very Happy

WhirlyGirl Cool
_________________
CPL(H) / FI(H) - Cabri G2, R22, S300, R44, B206
Flight Examiner (H), Ground Examiner (H)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Name
James T Lowe
Moderator
Moderator


Offline
Joined: Jul 27, 2004
Posts: 2575
Location: Leicester


uk.gif

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or the left wheel on the 109.... Very Happy

Re your simulator - you're on!
_________________
J.


Last edited by James T Lowe on Tue Mar 14, 2006 9:17 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
AndyB
'Torquing Regularly
'Torquing Regularly


Offline
Joined: Jan 16, 2006
Posts: 89
Location: Gloucestershire


uk.gif

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 9:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

WhirlyGirl,

How much are these controls, and where do you get them? Wouldn't mind to show my 30incher some chopper action! Wink

--Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
WhirlyGirl
Administrator
Administrator


Offline
Joined: Jul 20, 2004
Posts: 3702
Location: Birmingham, UK


uk.gif

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AndyB wrote:
Wouldn't mind to show my 30incher some chopper action!


I think you've got the wrong thread mate, this is the flight sim thread! Laughing


No seriously, back to your original question, ours cost about
_________________
CPL(H) / FI(H) - Cabri G2, R22, S300, R44, B206
Flight Examiner (H), Ground Examiner (H)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Name
WhirlyGirl
Administrator
Administrator


Offline
Joined: Jul 20, 2004
Posts: 3702
Location: Birmingham, UK


uk.gif

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here we go, RC Simulations is where we got it from. They still make them but I think there is quite a long waiting list on orders as they are all put together by hand. They are based in Bristol.

Hope this helps.

WhirlyGirl Cool
_________________
CPL(H) / FI(H) - Cabri G2, R22, S300, R44, B206
Flight Examiner (H), Ground Examiner (H)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Name
AndyB
'Torquing Regularly
'Torquing Regularly


Offline
Joined: Jan 16, 2006
Posts: 89
Location: Gloucestershire


uk.gif

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the info.

I did mean 30inch Apple cinema display! Rolling Eyes

--Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
WhirlyGirl
Administrator
Administrator


Offline
Joined: Jul 20, 2004
Posts: 3702
Location: Birmingham, UK


uk.gif

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lucky sod! Mine's only 17" Sad

Oh well, size isn't everything Wink

WhirlyGirl Cool
_________________
CPL(H) / FI(H) - Cabri G2, R22, S300, R44, B206
Flight Examiner (H), Ground Examiner (H)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Name
AndyB
'Torquing Regularly
'Torquing Regularly


Offline
Joined: Jan 16, 2006
Posts: 89
Location: Gloucestershire


uk.gif

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some say flash car small .....

Flash helicopter even smaller .....

Flash monitor, blind.

--Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
James T Lowe
Moderator
Moderator


Offline
Joined: Jul 27, 2004
Posts: 2575
Location: Leicester


uk.gif

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Depends what you use it for.

21" is enough for me...
_________________
J.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    HeliTorque Forum Index » Simulation All times are GMT

 
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Sponsors


Billund Air Center

Visit HeliTorque!