Contact Manager
Contact Manager
HeliTorque Forum Index » Flight Safety

Safety Audit
View previous topic :: View next topic  
airlogger
Shy 'Torquer
Shy 'Torquer

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2005 8:02 am    Post subject: Safety Audit Reply with quote

I'm a rookie Safety Officer for a new helicopter operation and we face a safety audit by an oil company in a week's time. I would appreciate any advice from any quarters on what to prepare for.
Heli-Ops
H Addict
H Addict

newzealand.gif

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2005 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Airlogger - My editor has a sideline where he actually does audits for various companies and I have just asked him to log in and see if he can help you with some info.

Heli Ops

anuva brilyant mynd rooind buy tha publick ejakayshun sistum
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Skype Name
ogsplash
Shy 'Torquer
Shy 'Torquer

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2005 9:32 pm    Post subject: Safety Audit Reply with quote

Airlogger, Audits can be interesting events as different auditors look for different things which is actually a good and a bad thing. Good because different issues are covered by different auditors and bad because sometimes changes can be contradictory as different audits are conducted. Oil companies are usually the most thorough although sometimes to a point of silliness...some not only look at aviation, they also get into occupational health and safety issues within your workplace so be prepared for that. These may include checking signage, waterwash facilities, lifting practices etc.