New Yesterday: 0
Registering: 0
Members: 6662
Latest: chrisw

Most Ever Online
Visitors: 447
Members: 10
Total: 457

HeliTorque :: View topic - Is OZ any better?
Forum FAQ
Forum FAQ
Search
Search
Memberlist
Memberlist
Usergroups
Usergroups
Contact Manager
Contact Manager
HeliTorque Forum Index » Wannabes

Is OZ any better? Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
novice
Starting to 'Torque
Starting to 'Torque

PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2010 5:55 am    Post subject: Is OZ any better? Reply with quote

I've been traveling for a few months now, and i quite like the idea of living somewhere hot for a bit, does anyone know if Oz is any better for getting a flying job as I've been told there's a fairly good chance of getting a cattle mustering job, or tourist flights after completing training and the license is roughly 30 grand over there. Will i get a visa for at least a few years and will the conversion be a killer if i ever want to go JAA and return home?
Jimmy
Starting to 'Torque
Starting to 'Torque

australia.gif

PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2010 7:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you want to work in Australia, you will need some sort of visa that permits you to live and work here. You won't get a working visa just because you train here. Have a look at the DIMIA site.

With regards to Cattle mustering, unless you have some sort of cattle experience you have pretty much no chance of breaking into this part of the industry.
Tourism, they put people on every year and you would have just as much of a chance at finding a job as the next pilot. I am Scottish and worked flying tourist here, nobody seems to care where you are from as long as you can fly and have a work visa.
As for the licence costing 30K over here well, yeah mine did back in 1998 but I think it's a wee bit more expensive these days.
105 Hours of flying @ $480 per hour, plus medical, plus exams, plus cost of living during your course.......you get the idea