Welcome Guest
HeliTorque
  
User Control Panel

Security Code: : Security Code
Type Security Code Here: :
 
Register Here
Lost Password?

Online Stats:
Visitors: 276
Members: 0
Total: 276

Membership:
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Registering: 0
Members: 6662
Latest: chrisw

Most Ever Online
Visitors: 546
Members: 0
Total: 546


HeliTorque :: View topic - Electrical failure
Forum FAQ
Forum FAQ
Search
Search
Memberlist
Memberlist
Usergroups
Usergroups
Profile
Profile
Contact Manager
Contact Manager
Log in
Log in
Log in to check your private messages
Log in to check your private messages
HeliTorque Forum Index » Flight Dynamics

Post new topic   Reply to topic All times are GMT
Electrical failure
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Rdriver
High Flying 'Torquer
High Flying 'Torquer


Offline
Joined: May 28, 2005
Posts: 113


blank.gif

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2005 7:22 pm    Post subject: Electrical failure Reply with quote

--

Last edited by Rdriver on Wed Nov 07, 2007 9:01 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bierbuikje
'Torquing Regularly
'Torquing Regularly


Offline
Joined: May 28, 2005
Posts: 55



PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2005 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Rdriver did you loose ERPM as well or just RRPM?

Were you flying close to any low / high frequency towers? I had an incident a few years back where I had to enter auto twice through HF towers, We started hearing music through the head set's then they wound down the governor on me. Since this happened we always turn of the governor when we fly past them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rdriver
High Flying 'Torquer
High Flying 'Torquer


Offline
Joined: May 28, 2005
Posts: 113


blank.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 5:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

--

Last edited by Rdriver on Wed Nov 07, 2007 9:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rdriver
High Flying 'Torquer
High Flying 'Torquer


Offline
Joined: May 28, 2005
Posts: 113


blank.gif

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

..

Last edited by Rdriver on Wed Nov 07, 2007 9:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WhirlyGirl
Administrator
Administrator


Offline
Joined: Jul 20, 2004
Posts: 3702
Location: Birmingham, UK


uk.gif

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you ever find out the cause of the problem?

WhirlyGirl Cool
_________________
CPL(H) / FI(H) - Cabri G2, R22, S300, R44, B206
Flight Examiner (H), Ground Examiner (H)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Skype Name
Rdriver
High Flying 'Torquer
High Flying 'Torquer


Offline
Joined: May 28, 2005
Posts: 113


blank.gif

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

..

Last edited by Rdriver on Wed Nov 07, 2007 9:03 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ascend_Charlie
H Addict
H Addict


Offline
Joined: Aug 23, 2005
Posts: 266
Location: On a course.... golf course


australia.gif

PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To answer the original question, I have twice had a total electrics failure, both on B206. Once was the aircraft's fault, once was my fault.

The aircraft time, was a night flight, drifting around the skies in Sydney's control zone. I noticed that the lights were getting a little dim, and elected to return to the airfield rather than follow the flight plan. I warned the tower that I might lose my radio, and they cleared me to land on the threshold of 16, a long way from our hangar, but clear of other aircraft and getting me out of their hair.

Just as i landed, all electrics were lost. No landing lights, no aircraft lights, nothing. The "follow me" jeep came along the taxiway, turned around, and i hovered behind his bumper bar back to our hangar - he went a bit fast for my liking in the black!

The second time was daytime on a powerline survey, when I was distracted during my after-start checks, and omitted to turn on the generator. Some hours later, about the time to return for refuel, I heard a squawking sound. Finally traced it to the low RPM warning horn - couldn't work out why it was bleating at me. Then the radio dials got awfully dim and intercom failed. A short time later when the instruments started to fail, I checked the Gen switch, turned it on, and everything was restored. Duh!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thomas Coupling
H Addict
H Addict


Offline
Joined: Jul 26, 2004
Posts: 490
Location: How do I know...The map is on the back seat!


uk.gif

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I fired up the 206 from an external source once...

Realised a short time later that nothing was working!

I forgot to connect the battery Embarassed

Still ran okay though Rolling Eyes
_________________
TC - Pilot to the Stars.


GPS - No fix available Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
helogadget
Shy 'Torquer
Shy 'Torquer


Offline
Joined: Aug 19, 2005
Posts: 4
Location: Upstate SC USA


usa.gif

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2005 3:11 am    Post subject: Electrical failure Reply with quote

One night, while on patrol and out over the lake on a chilly fall evening my tactical flight officer and myself were beginning to get a little toasty from the heater. I asked the TFO to switch off the heater and the next second it was pitch black in the cockpit (and outside as well!). It took me about a second to realize what had happened. the TFO had accidentally turned off the battery switch instead of the heater switch. I reached up (uttering unmentionable expletives!) and flipped the battery switch back on. We had a little laugh and surprisingly, my heart actually stood up to the strain. LOL He's now a pilot too....hopefully some dark, dark night when I'm CP in his aircraft...I'll return the scare. Twisted Evil

--Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail ICQ Number
nicklappos
Shy 'Torquer
Shy 'Torquer


Offline
Joined: Oct 23, 2005
Posts: 6
Location: South Carolina


usa.gif

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 2:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did the test flights on the S-76, and one that was similar to the question at hand was the need to show adequate safety with all forms of generated and stored electrical power switched off, at maximum speed at maximum altitude, for 5 minutes.

I had to take the S76 up to 15,000 feet, settle in for a bit, and then switch off EVERYTHING and time 5 minutes of flight. It was a bit eery, no ICS, no radios, no tachometers or temps or pressures or anything. No fuel quantity. No caution lights! Do you think the noises started getting louder? Was that a chip in the transmission that I am ignoring? Is that a beginning engine stall, and I have no instruments?? Is it ok??? AM I GONNA MAKE IT????

After the almost longest 5 minutes ever, I turned the gens on and found everything normal, completely! Nice to know all that machinery merely tolerates the electricals, after all!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Skype Name
Ascend_Charlie
H Addict
H Addict


Offline
Joined: Aug 23, 2005
Posts: 266
Location: On a course.... golf course


australia.gif

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 6:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bluddy hell, Nick! Five minutes at full speed at 15 kilofeet and NO AUTOPILOT or SAS!! Musta been a bit squirrelly at that speed.

You test pilots really do have balls of brass.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
northernhero
'Torquing Regularly
'Torquing Regularly


Offline
Joined: Oct 24, 2005
Posts: 70
Location: oop north


uk.gif

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just aquicky but in a robbie BOTH tachos are electrically driven i.e if you loose power you loose the govenor and the tach so you cannot manually fly the throttle unlike others (i.e the H269 S300 H300 whatever you want to call it) which have self generating tachos so no electrics, noproblem
_________________
R22, H269, R44, B206, EC120, AS350,
it is all up and down in this job...........
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ascend_Charlie
H Addict
H Addict


Offline
Joined: Aug 23, 2005
Posts: 266
Location: On a course.... golf course


australia.gif

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not quite right, Northern Hero - you CAN manually work the throttle. But you have to judge the RRPM by ear instead of by tacho.

But for most pilots, that should be fairly easy - an overspeed sounds obvious, and an underspeed gives funny vibes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
northernhero
'Torquing Regularly
'Torquing Regularly


Offline
Joined: Oct 24, 2005
Posts: 70
Location: oop north


uk.gif

PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2005 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

true a c , but the point i was making was that the tachs and gov all require power. why the tachs are not self generating on a machine where rrpm is critical who knows?

also for most low(ish) time pilots i dont agree that flying by ear wil work, i instruct on the 269 series and even WITH the tachos you would be amazed at theeffort some people take to keep it green!
_________________
R22, H269, R44, B206, EC120, AS350,
it is all up and down in this job...........
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    HeliTorque Forum Index » Flight Dynamics All times are GMT

 
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Sponsors


Billund Air Center

Visit HeliTorque!