Welcome Guest
HeliTorque
  
User Control Panel

Security Code: : Security Code
Type Security Code Here: :
 
Register Here
Lost Password?

Online Stats:
Visitors: 35
Members: 0
Total: 35

Membership:
New Today: 0
New Yesterday: 0
Registering: 0
Members: 6662
Latest: chrisw

Most Ever Online
Visitors: 447
Members: 10
Total: 457


HeliTorque :: View topic - Helmet comms compatibility
Forum FAQ
Forum FAQ
Search
Search
Memberlist
Memberlist
Usergroups
Usergroups
Profile
Profile
Contact Manager
Contact Manager
Log in
Log in
Log in to check your private messages
Log in to check your private messages
HeliTorque Forum Index » Student Pilots & Hour Builders

Post new topic   Reply to topic All times are GMT
Helmet comms compatibility
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DiscoTim
Shy 'Torquer
Shy 'Torquer


Offline
Joined: Aug 21, 2011
Posts: 2



PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2011 2:13 pm    Post subject: Helmet comms compatibility Reply with quote

Hi All

First post on here, so hello.

I'm hour-building for ATPL(H) and have bought an Alpha 200 helmet, complete with ANR. It's second hand but in absolutely as new condition, never used.

Tried it out for the first time on Friday when in the school's R22. I had some problems talking to the Control Tower when perfoming a radio check (they couldn't hear me and I couldn't hear them!).

New batteries in the ANR, which worked when switched on, as the background noise levels reduced to almost zero.

My passenger, a CPL(H), said it may be some impedance problem. He was using a BOSE X headset, which worked fine.

Any suggestions?!

Tim


Last edited by DiscoTim on Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:11 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flip2
High Flying 'Torquer
High Flying 'Torquer


Offline
Joined: Sep 05, 2009
Posts: 225



PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2011 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It certainly sounds like an impedance problem.

High impedance microphones are typically used in general aviation helicopters - the R22 will most likely have a high impedance fit.

Low impedance microphones are typically used in military or older larger helicopters. My guess is that your Alpha is fitted with a low impedance mic.

Presuming this is the problem, your options are:
1. Get an impedance converter (you need a low to high converter)
2. Replace the microphone with a high impedance mic (and possibly the speakers too)

If you can get some information off the microphone you have fitted it may make things clearer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DiscoTim
Shy 'Torquer
Shy 'Torquer


Offline
Joined: Aug 21, 2011
Posts: 2



PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2011 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, Flip

I'm going to call Headset Services in th morning to discuss the problem. Think your synopsis may be spot on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
raffski
High Flying 'Torquer
High Flying 'Torquer


Offline
Joined: May 26, 2005
Posts: 125
Location: UK


ireland.gif

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the R22 has an intercom panel fitted, then it should tolerate different impedance headsets, if not, then the radio is running things and it will generally not tolerate mixed impedance systems. I've not seen a solution to this in non intercom fitted R22s, probably not a lot you can do other than try a different machine that does have this fit.
(As an instructor with my own Bose X, it will only work in intercom fitted R22s, and company engineering state this is the reason).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    HeliTorque Forum Index » Student Pilots & Hour Builders All times are GMT

 
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Sponsors


Billund Air Center

Visit HeliTorque!